Taebaek City
Home sitemap contact us Korean Chinese Japanese
INTRODUCTION TOUR GUIDE TOURIST SITES TOURIST CONVENIENT FACILIES TOURIST & CULTURAL FESTIVAL CULTURE
 
evening glow
 
INTRODUCTION
Welcomin Speech
History
Location
Symbols
Overview of Taebaek
History
 
Ancient Period
  During the Three Hans Period, this region belonged to Siljik of Jin Han. In 102 AD, it came to be ruled by the Shilla Kingdom. Around the 5th century, it was governed by the Goguryeo Kingdom. Again in 505, during the 6th year of the reign of King Jijeung, it fell once again under the sway of Shilla, and was renamed Siljikju. In those days it was regarded as a strategic point when conducting the Nordpolitik by the Shilla Kingdom, and in 658 the Nordpolitik was realized. In 685, after the unification of the Three Kingdoms, it belonged to Haseo-ju. Then in 757, when Haseo-ju was renamed Myeong-ju, it was also renamed Samcheok-gun.
   
Goryeo
  In 1018, Samcheok was downgraded to hyeon status. In 1378, when the regional system was fixed into five provinces, it was upgraded once again to its formal level of gun, and came under the jurisdiction of Donggye.
   
Choseon
  In 1393 the region was upgraded as Samcheok-bu, and in 1413 it was again upgraded to Samcheok-dohobu. According to the 'Cheokju-ji', published by Heo Mok in 1662, the current region of Taebaek-si, together with Hajang-myeon in Samcheok-gu, belonged to Jangsaeng-ri. In 1801, Sangjangsaeng-myeon was renamed Sangjang-myeon.
   
Modern Times
  In 1895 Samcheok-dohobu became a gun under the jurisdiction of Gangreung-bu; in 1896 it fell under the jurisdiction of Gangwon-do.
   
Present Times
 

In 1961 Sangjang-myeon was upgraded to Jangseong-eup, and in 1962 a branch office was established in Hwangji, Jangseong-eup. In 1973, a branch office in Hwangji was upgraded as Hwangji-eup. In 1977 branch offices were established in Hwangjeon and Sodo in Hwangji-eup. In 1981 Jangseong-eup and Hwangji-eup were integrated into Taebaek-si, thereby became independent from Samcheok-gun. (Law ¡í 3425). On December 26, 1994, four ris in Hajang-myeon, Samcheok-gun were integrated into Taebaek-si as Sajo-dong. (President Decree ¡í3425).

On September 10, 1998, administrative dongs were integrated or abolished, and thereby neighborhood names were changed. (16 dongs -> 8 dongs)

   
  Hwangji-dong, Hwangyeon-dong (Hwangji 2-dong + Yeonhwa-dong),
Samsu-dong (Hwangji 3-dong, Hwajeon 2-dong, Sajo-dong),
Sangjang-dong, Mungok Sodo-dong (Mungok-dong + Sodo-dong),
Jangseong-dong (Jangseong 2-dong + Jangseong 3-dong),
Gumunso-dong (Jangseong 1-dong + Dongjeom-dong),
Cheolam-dong (Cheolam 1-dong + Cheolam 2-dong).
 
Copyright 2003 (c) Taebaek All Rights Reserved  sysop@taebaek.kangwon.kr